Skip to main content

 

WhatsApp Group chats are a great way to collaborate with coworkers or basically hang out with family and friends, keeping the entire conversation organized on one screen.

If you are the administrator, you can delete a WhatsApp group completely and without anesthesia. If you are basically a member, you can only select to delete the group from your device.

How to delete a WhatsApp group as an Administrator

As administrator, you must first remove each individual member first, to later be able to delete the group.

  1. Open WhatsApp and select the name of the group you want to delete.
  2. Touch the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. Now the group information is displayed. Scroll down to the Participants section and tap the name of the first person you want to remove.
  4. An options menu should appear and select the Delete «the name of the person you are going to remove».
  5. It will ask you to confirm the deletion of this person. Tap Delete.
  6. Repeat steps 3-5 for each group member, until only you is left.
  7. Tap Exit Group, located at the bottom of the Group Information interface.
  8. Touch Exit Group again when the confirmation question appears.
  9. A message should now appear at the top of the screen stating that you are no longer a participant in this group. Tap Delete group, located at the bottom of the screen.
  10. Tap Delete group again when the confirmation question appears. Now the WhatsApp Group will be completely eliminated.

How to delete a WhatsApp group if you are only a member

Unlike deleting a WhatsApp group as an administrator, the group chat in question will remain active without you being a member unless your administrator chooses to delete it.

  1. Open WhatsApp and tap on the group name you want to delete.
  2. Touch the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. Now you should be viewing the group information, scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap Leave the group.
  4. Touch Exit Group again when the confirmation question appears. The WhatsApp group should now be removed from your device.